So a 2 point conversion just happened and you’re scrambling to try and figure out how it has impacted your fantasy scoring. Two very common questions people have are:
- Do interceptions count on 2 point conversions? (No, explained below)
- Do fumbles count on 2 point conversions? (No, explained below)
The truth is, there are many different rules in fantasy football and trying to understand all of them can be quite difficult, even for those who have been playing fantasy football for a long time. One of the plays that gets overlooked in fantasy is 2 point conversions. So, what are the rules for 2 point conversions in fantasy?
If the offense succeeds, then the player(s) involved will get 2 fantasy points. The players do not get credit in the official stats for completions, receptions, or yards gained on a 2 point conversions, and so likewise they get no fantasy points for those things.
If the defense returns the ball to the opposite endzone for a 2 point score, the defense will also be given 2 fantasy points. Interceptions and fumbles on 2 point conversions do not count as official statistics and so they also are not awarded any fantasy points.
If you want to get ahead of your fantasy competition, you need to get the top notch data and analysis on the market. You can do this by clicking here to view StatShark’s platform at StatShark.com (affiliate link takes you to StatShark.com). You can sign up for their FREE TRIAL, so you don’t even have to pay for it. Get help with player comparisons, player stats, lineup optimization, lineup uploads, and much more.
If you are looking for a place to play Daily Fantasy Sports (DFS), FanDuel is one of the leading online fantasy sites. They offer a wide range of formats and games for fun and real money – click here to view FanDuel’s platform at FanDuel.com (affiliate link takes you to FanDuel.com).
In this article we will do a deeper dive on these following 2 point conversion fantasy issues:
- Do Interceptions Count on 2 Point Conversions?
- Do Fumbles Count on 2 Point Conversions?
- Do Yards Count on 2 Point Conversions?
- Do Receptions and Completions count on 2 Point Conversions?
- 2 Point Conversion Scoring Scenarios in Fantasy Football
Do Interceptions Count on 2 Point Conversions in Fantasy?
Interceptions are not uncommon on 2 point conversions because quarterbacks tend to take chances since it makes no sense to play it safe. If one happens in the game you are following you may be wondering do interceptions count on 2 point conversions, and if so, do they affect fantasy football scoring?
No, interceptions do not count on a 2 point conversion, meaning the attempt fails but even though the result of the play is an interception, no interception is recorded in the official statistics.
This is true both in fantasy scoring and real game statistics. The reason for this is a 2 point conversion is considered a point after try, or PAT, and not a normal play. So normal play statistics are not tracked when it comes to 2 point conversions.
So when players throw an interception on a 2 point conversion, it is just a failed point after try and nothing more. Defenses also do not get credit for an interception either.
So the fantasy impact of a failed 2 point try that results in an interception is nothing. No points are awarded to the defense for making an interception, and no points are subtracted from the quarterback for throwing an interception. It’s as if the play never happened.
Do Fumbles Count on 2 Point Conversions in Fantasy?
Fumbles are not as common as interceptions are on 2 point conversions, but if they do occur, do fumbles count on 2 point conversions? And do they affect fantasy football scoring?
Fumbles do not count on 2 point conversions. A fumble will not be recorded in the official statistics and will not affect fantasy football scoring in any way.
As we mentioned above regarding interceptions, 2 point conversions are considered point after tries and so these plays are not recorded like normal plays are. Since these plays are not considered normal game plays, the results of the plays do not affect official statistics. The only result that matters is did the attempt succeed or fail. matter other than if they are a success for a failure.
Do Yards Count on 2 Point Conversions in Fantasy?
So we discussed interceptions and fumbles on 2 point conversions, but what about the actual yards gained or lost during a 2 point conversion? Do yards count on 2 point conversions, and do they affect fantasy scoring?
No, yards do not count on 2 point conversions. The yards gained or lost on a 2 point conversion are not recorded as official statistics and therefore also do not affect fantasy scoring in an way.
As we explained above, 2 point conversions are point after tries and are not considered normal plays. So although the offensive players involved in a successful 2 point attempt with get 2 points added to their score in fantasy, they will not get to add the yards gained to their yardage totals.
Do Completions Count on 2 Point Conversion in Fantasy?
If you are playing in a PPR league or a league that gives points for completions, you may be wondering if your players will get credit for any completions or catches on 2 point conversions. Do receptions count on 2 point conversions, and will they affect fantasy football scoring?
No, receptions do not count on 2 point conversions. As with all other statistics on 2 point tries, these are not recorded and your player will not get any points for a reception.
2 Point Conversion Scoring in Fantasy Football
2 point conversions are a sneaky way to add some extra points to your fantasy totals, which may be all the difference between winning and losing. In the sections above we discussed interceptions, fumbles, receptions, and yardage, and how they are not recorded as official statistics during 2 point conversions.
So what exactly are the ways you can score fantasy points during a 2 point conversion? Although scoring formats vary slightly depending on your league, most fantasy leagues use the same scoring structure for how to handle 2 point conversions, so likely this information does apply to your league. Here are the ways fantasy points can be gained (or lost) during a 2 point conversion:
Fantasy Points Gained
- Successful Rushing 2 Point Conversion – A player rushes the football for a successful 2 point conversion. That player does not get credit for the yards gained, but does receive 2 fantasy points for a successful conversion.
- Successful Passing 2 Point Conversion – A pass is completed for a successful 2 point conversion. The passer (likely the QB) does not get credit for the yards gained, and the receiver does not get credit for the yards gained, or for the reception. The passer and the receiver on the play do receive 2 fantasy points each for a successful 2 point conversion.
- Defensive Return – If the defense intercepts a pass or recovers a fumble and returns it to the other endzone for a 2 point score, most leagues award that defense with 2 fantasy points. The defense does not get credit for the interception or fumble, just the score.
- Safety – Yes, a safety is possible on a 2 point conversion. The likeliest scenario for a safety would be the defense intercepts the ball in the endzone, briefly brings it out, establishes possession outside of the endzone, then retreats back into the endzone where they are tackled for a safety. This is obviously going to be a very uncommon occurrence.
Fantasy Points Lost
- Defensive Point Total – The point total of the defense could potentially by pushed to a point where the fantasy team defense loses points due to the overall points they have given up in the game. This will obviously depend on how many points they’ve given up total, and how your specific league is structured regarding this rule.
- Opposing Team Defense Point Total – This is an extremely rare occurrence, but it is possible that the defense intercepts a pass or recovers a fumble and returns it to the opposite endzone for 2 points. This does happen on occasion, and depending on how your league handles defensive points, this could potentially cause you to lose points if you had the team defense of the team that was attempting the 2 point conversion. Not all leagues count turnover points against the defensive point total, so this will depend on your league rules.